aether
Managed Kubernetes · eu-fi · Helsinki, Finland

Managed Kubernetes for teams who already run Kubernetes.

You keep your manifests, your kubectl and your pipelines. Aether operates the control plane and its upgrades, the cluster network, identity, the container registry and observability, on immutable Talos nodes it replaces rather than patches. Hosted today in one EU region: Helsinki, Finland.

One 4 vCPU / 16 GB worker: €88.00/month plus its node disk at €0.12/GB and the €4 public endpoint, with the control plane at €0. Volumes, load balancers and registry storage are billed at the rate card — VAT excluded. See the full example bills.

Evaluating? Every node has a 15-minute grace period, measured from the moment it first appears in the cluster’s node list, whether or not it becomes Ready — remove a pool within 15 minutes of its first node appearing and it carries no node charge, and billing stops when you request the removal, before the drain. The €4 public API endpoint and each load balancer lock a flat month the first time the billing sampler observes the address; volumes and registry storage are charged once every clock hour for whatever the sampler observes then.

  • €0 control plane
  • No SSH service on any node
  • One region — eu-fi
cluster provision — illustrative timelineeu-fi

REST POST /api/v1/organizations/{orgID}/clusters

the same call the portal makes when you create a cluster

  1. 0:00request accepted — quota ok, spec written
  2. 0:01VLAN 112 + subnet 10.64.12.0/24 allocated
  3. 0:03tenant datastore ready — isolated + replicated
  4. 0:07PKI issued — 7/7 certificates signed
  5. 0:09kube-apiserver · controller-manager · scheduler starting
  6. 0:16control plane Ready — running as pods, no VM to manage
  7. 0:34dedicated load-balancer proxy online, DNS record published
  8. 0:58Talos workers booting — immutable, no SSH, no shell
  9. 4:123/3 nodes Ready — kubeconfig available

Illustrative timeline, not a recording of a specific run: typical timings for 3 small workers in eu-fi, where every node boots cold from an immutable image. Your own provision streams live in the portal. Clusters are created from the portal or the REST API — there is no released CLI.

Why Aether

The platform work, done once, by us.

Most managed Kubernetes hands you a bare cluster and a list of extras to assemble. Aether ships the surrounding platform with the cluster — and takes the pieces you would otherwise have to secure yourself out of your hands entirely.

The control plane is ours to run

Your kube-apiserver, controller-manager and scheduler run as hardened pods in our management cluster, on a per-tenant datastore. There is no control-plane VM in your estate to size, patch or lose — and a new one is Ready in 10–20 seconds.

Immutable Talos nodes

Every worker runs Talos Linux: no SSH service, no shell, no package manager, read-only root filesystem. Nodes are managed over an authenticated API, so node access never depends on who holds an SSH key.

A dedicated load balancer per Service

Each Service of type LoadBalancer gets its own load-balancer VM with its own public IP — no shared proxy fleet, no noisy neighbours on your ingress path. €8 a month, IP included.

One EU region, one jurisdiction

Aether runs today in a single region — eu-fi, a Hetzner data centre in Helsinki, Finland — operated by an EU company. Workloads, volumes, images, metrics and billing records live there. Payment data is processed by Stripe; see the privacy policy.

Platform services with the control plane

Single sign-on, the container registry with image scanning, DNS, TLS, datastore backups, autoscaling and observability are included with the €0 control plane. The resources they consume — registry storage, volumes, load balancers, the endpoint IP — are billed at the rate card.

Self-service, API-first

The portal and a Terraform-compatible REST API are the supported surfaces today: create clusters, scale node pools, download kubeconfigs, invite your team, read your bill. A Terraform provider and an aether CLI are planned but not released.

Included with the control plane

The control plane is €0. So are the services on it.

Hyperscalers charge roughly $0.10 an hour per control plane before you run a single pod. On Aether the control plane is free, and so are the platform services that run with it — sign-on, registry, DNS, TLS, backups, observability. What you pay for is the resources they and your workloads consume: worker nodes, volumes, load balancers, registry storage and every cluster’s mandatory public API endpoint.

See full pricing
  • Aether Identity — single sign-on with MFA
  • Aether Container Registry with image scanning
  • DNS records + automatic TLS certificates
  • Aether Observability — dashboards, metrics, logs, traces
  • Cluster autoscaler — warm capacity, typically ~80s to a Ready node
  • Node health checks with automatic replacement
  • Control-plane datastore backups (not your application data)
  • metrics-server for kubectl top and horizontal pod autoscaling
  • Pre-built dashboards and alert rules
Compared

Hyperscaler features. Not hyperscaler bills.

One worker node of 4 vCPU / 16 GB RAM, plus the control-plane tier each provider sells for a production cluster. Aether charges no control-plane fee across any available tier; these competitors have paid control-plane tiers. On Aether that is €88.00/month with the control plane included; the one cluster-level fee is the €4/month public API endpoint — an IPv4 address rather than a control-plane charge. Every cluster currently requires a separately billed public API endpoint, and it is inside Aether's total below; no competitor here is charged a control-plane IPv4. Private-network connectivity, which would make the public endpoint optional, is a future capability.

Two configurations are named throughout. The 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration is what every total in tables 1 and 2 prices. The configuration meeting the performance target — at least 10,000 sustained IOPS and at least 250 MiB/s, or the smallest configuration reaching them — is priced separately per provider below, because on most providers the compared worker does not reach it. A total below is not by itself a claim that the performance target is met — only the OVHcloud and DigitalOcean rows reach it at the price shown, and each says so. Every non-Aether figure was read from the provider's own pricing source on 2026-09-09; what could not be read says pending rather than a number.

1 · Worker and control plane

One 4 vCPU / 16 GB worker plus the selected control-plane tier, per month, VAT excluded. Read 2026-09-09.
ProviderWorker / regionWorker /moControl-plane tierCP /moCP SLAIs any tier free?Subtotal
Aether4 vCPU / 16 GBeu-fi · Helsinki€88.00Included — no paid tier exists€0.00No SLA publishedFree, and there is no tier above it€88.00
OVHcloudalso OVHcloud Managed Kubernetesb3-16GRA · French catalogue€74.68MKS Standard€65.7099.9% in GRA (1-AZ); the 99.99% figure is 3-AZ onlyMKS Free exists — SLO 99.5%, not an SLA, and ≤100 nodes€140.38
DigitalOceanalso DOKS pricing, DOKS SLAg-4vcpu-16gb (General Purpose, dedicated vCPU)AMS3 · list price is region-independent$126.00DOKS High Availability$40.0099.95% monthly uptime — HA clusters onlyThe standard control plane is $0, but it carries no SLA$166.00≈ €142.93
Scaleway (shared vCPU)also Scaleway instances datasheet, Scaleway containers pricing (Kapsule)GP1-XS (shared vCPU, previous generation)fr-par-1 / fr-par-2 · shared vCPU, no instance SLA€67.76Kapsule Dedicated-4 — 30-calendar-day commitment€80.3099.5% on the control plane — the INSTANCE carries sla: 0Kapsule Mutualized is free, with SLA listed as N/A€148.06
Scalewayalso Scaleway containers pricing (Kapsule)POP2-4C-16G (dedicated vCPU)fr-par-1 / fr-par-2 · fr-par-3 is +50%€107.31Kapsule Dedicated-4 — 30-calendar-day commitment€80.3099.5% on the control planeKapsule Mutualized is free, with SLA listed as N/A€187.61
Google Cloudalso Compute Engine general-purpose pricingn4-standard-4europe-west1 · Belgium$145.81GKE Standard, regional$73.00PendingA $74.40/month credit exists but is excluded for regional clusters; the fee is flat across modes$218.81≈ €188.40
AWSalso AWS Price List Bulk API — EKS, eu-west-1m6i.xlargeeu-west-1 · Ireland$156.22EKS, standard Kubernetes version support$73.00PendingNo free tier; extended version support is +$0.50/h$229.22≈ €197.37
AzureD4s v5, Linux pay-as-you-goWest Europe$167.90AKS Standard (Uptime SLA)$73.00Tier named "Uptime SLA"; percentage pendingAKS Free exists — no financially-backed SLA. Premium is $0.60/h$240.90≈ €207.42

2 · Storage, load balancer and the worked total

The 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration: 100 GiB of block storage at the compared worker size, or the smallest volume the provider requires to reach the performance target where its product scales performance with size (OVHcloud Gen2: 489 GiB) — the performance target (≥10,000 sustained IOPS and ≥250 MiB/s) is otherwise priced separately, per provider; one L4 load balancer with a public IPv4; and the total of worker + storage + load balancer + IP + control plane. Most of these totals do not price the performance target — the configuration meeting the performance target is listed per provider below the table, and on OVHcloud and DigitalOcean it is the total shown here. On Aether that total is worker €88.00, 50 GB node disk €6.00, 100 GiB block storage €15.00, load balancer €8.00, public API endpoint €4.00 — €121.00.
ProviderBlock storagePublished performanceStorage /moLoad balancerHA modelLB /moProcessing fee excludedPublic IPv4Total
Aetheraether-block (Ceph RWO)100 GiBNo published IOPS or throughput figure€15.00LoadBalancer ServiceL4 TCP/UDPA dedicated proxy VM per Service — a single instance€8.00NoneIncluded in the load balancer€121.00
OVHcloudHigh Speed Gen2489 GiB15,751 IOPS / 262.5 MB/s — size-derived at 30 IOPS and 0.5 MB/s per decimal GB, and 489 GiB is 525 GB€42.05Load Balancer Octavia SL4/L7, 200 Mbps; UDP not statedManaged, "High Availability: Yes" in the catalogue€6.00None published — flavour bandwidth cap only€1.80 (Floating IP)€190.23
DigitalOceanVolumes Block Storage100 GiB10,000 IOPS / 450 MB/s sustained on a dedicated Droplet — a cap, not provisioned$10.00Regional Network Load Balancer, 1 nodeL4 TCP + UDP; preserves client source IP; no IPv6 on DOKSManaged; availability improves with added nodes, priced per node$15.00None — backend egress draws on the Droplet transfer pool$0.00 — a regional LB cannot take a reserved IP$191.00≈ €164.46
Scaleway (shared vCPU)Block Storage 15K100 GBUp to 15,000 IOPS — headline; no per-volume throughput figure published€12.92Load Balancer LB-SL4 (all TCP) + L7; no UDP. 200 MbpsFailover replica — a script spawns a replacement and reroutes the IP€16.79None published — traffic unlimited within the flavour bandwidth€3.65 (flexible IPv4)€181.42
ScalewayBlock Storage 15K100 GBUp to 15,000 IOPS — headline; no per-volume throughput figure published€12.92Load Balancer LB-SL4 (all TCP) + L7; no UDP. 200 MbpsFailover replica — a script spawns a replacement and reroutes the IP€16.79None published — traffic unlimited within the flavour bandwidth€3.65 (flexible IPv4)€220.97
Google CloudHyperdisk Balanced100 GiB + 7,000 provisioned IOPS + 122.14 MB/s10,000 IOPS / 262.14 MB/s provisioned — free baseline is 3,000 IOPS / 140 MB/s$56.17External passthrough Network Load BalancerL4 TCP/UDP; first 5 forwarding rules includedManaged, regional — no customer-visible instances$18.25$0.008 per GiB inbound + $0.008 outbound, excluded from the total$0.00 — an IP attached to a forwarding rule is not charged$293.23≈ €252.48
AWSgp3100 GiB + 7,000 provisioned IOPS + 125 MiB/s10,000 IOPS / 250 MiB/s provisioned and sustained — gp3 does not burst$52.80Network Load BalancerL4 TCP/UDPManaged, regional, multi-AZ — no customer-visible instances$18.40$0.006 per LCU-hour, excluded from the total$3.65 (in-use public IPv4)$304.07≈ €261.81
AzurePremium SSD v2100 GiB + 7,000 provisioned IOPS + 137.14 MB/s10,000 IOPS / 262.14 MB/s provisioned$56.88Standard Load BalancerL4 TCP/UDP; first 5 rules includedManaged, zone-redundant — no customer-visible instances$18.25$0.005 per GB processed, excluded from the total$3.65 (Standard static public IPv4)$319.68≈ €275.25

The 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration against the configuration meeting the performance target

The totals above price the 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration. The performance target is ≥10,000 sustained IOPS and ≥250 MiB/s, or the smallest configuration reaching them. Where the compared worker does not reach it, the configuration meeting the performance target is priced here instead and is deliberately NOT in any total above (AWS, Azure, Google, Scaleway POP2). Where a provider already reaches the target at the compared size the figure below IS that row's total (OVHcloud, DigitalOcean), and where none can be shown the row says so rather than quoting a price (Aether, Scaleway shared vCPU). Each row also states how it treats the worker's root, boot or OS disk.

Aether
Aether publishes no IOPS or throughput figure, so it is not shown as meeting the target — only as not claiming to. The €4 public API endpoint is in this total; no other provider is charged a control-plane IPv4 here.
configuration meeting the performance target: Not determinable: Aether publishes no IOPS or throughput figure for aether-block, so no Aether configuration can be shown to reach the target. aether-block is sold by provisioned size only.
Boot / root / OS disk: Included in the total: the worker’s own 50 GB node disk is a separate rate-card line and is inside the €121.00.
OVHcloud
Storage size deviates: Gen2 performance scales with size, so 100 GiB delivers only 3,221 IOPS / 53.7 MB/s. Gen2 is priced per GiB but scales per decimal GB, so reaching 250 MiB/s (262.144 MB/s) takes 524.3 GB — 489 GiB, the smallest size meeting both targets, costing €33.45/month more than 100 GiB would. Published throughput ceiling is contradictory — 512 MB/s in the catalogue, 320 MB/s on the product page. b3-16 also bundles 100 GB of local NVMe, so this volume is purely additive.
configuration meeting the performance target: The same b3-16 worker with 489 GiB of High Speed Gen2 — the configuration already priced in this row’s total, €190.23/month. Gen2 performance is size-derived, so reaching the target costs €33.45/month more than 100 GiB would.
Boot / root / OS disk: Bundled: b3-16 includes 100 GB of local NVMe, so no separate boot volume is billed and none is missing from the total.
DigitalOcean
Met, but as a ceiling rather than a provisioned figure: DigitalOcean publishes no provisioned-IOPS tier and no per-volume IOPS SLA. The 10,000 IOPS row applies only because the worker is a dedicated-CPU Droplet; on the cheaper shared-CPU 4 vCPU / 16 GB plan the volume caps at 7,500 IOPS / 300 MB/s. Whether the cap is per volume or per Droplet is not stated.
configuration meeting the performance target: The same g-4vcpu-16gb worker with the same 100 GiB volume — the configuration already priced in this row’s total, $191.00 (≈ €164.46). The 10,000 IOPS is a ceiling on a dedicated-CPU Droplet, not a provisioned figure, and DigitalOcean publishes no per-volume IOPS SLA.
Boot / root / OS disk: Bundled: the Droplet includes 50 GiB of instance storage, so no separate boot volume is billed and none is missing from the total.
Scaleway (shared vCPU)
Not a like-for-like worker, and further from the storage target than POP2. Scaleway's own catalogue flags GP1-XS sharedCpu: true with sla: 0, on AMD EPYC 7281 (or equivalent) at 2.1 GHz against POP2's dedicated EPYC 7543 at 2.8 GHz. Its block bandwidth caps at 300 MiB/s where POP2 reaches 800 MiB/s, and Block 15K needs an instance with ≥3 GiB/s to deliver its headline IOPS — so this row misses the ≥10,000 IOPS target by more than the POP2 row does. It does include up to 150 GB of local SSD, which POP2 has none of. Shown because it is the cheaper tier a buyer will find on the same page.
configuration meeting the performance target: Not reached at this worker size and not priced here: Block 15K needs an instance with ≥3 GiB/s of block bandwidth, and GP1-XS caps at 300 MiB/s. The smallest Scaleway instance that reaches it is POP2-32C-128G — see the POP2 row, where that configuration is priced.
Boot / root / OS disk: Bundled: GP1-XS includes up to 150 GB of local SSD, so no separate boot volume is billed and none is missing from the total.
Scaleway
Not met at this worker size. Scaleway requires an instance with ≥3 GiB/s of block bandwidth to reach Block 15K; POP2-4C-16G caps at 800 MiB/s. Removing the deviation means POP2-32C-128G at €861.40/month — +€754.09 — which would make the comparison meaningless, so it is recorded as a deviation rather than repriced. POP2 has no local disk, so the boot volume is an unshown cost on this row.
configuration meeting the performance target: POP2-32C-128G (€861.40/month) with the same Block 15K volume, Kapsule Dedicated-4 control plane, LB-S and flexible IPv4: €975.06/month — +€754.09 on this row’s total. Priced but not published as a total, because a 32-vCPU worker is no longer the compared shape.
Boot / root / OS disk: Excluded from the total: POP2-4C-16G has no local disk, so a real cluster needs a block volume to boot from that this row does not price.
Google Cloud
The disk meets the target; the VM does not. Hyperdisk Balanced provisions IOPS and throughput independently of size, so the 100 GiB volume reaches 10,000 IOPS / 262.14 MB/s — but n4-standard-4 caps at 30,000 IOPS / 240 MiB/s per instance, below the 250 MiB/s target. The smallest N4 meeting both is n4-standard-8 (30,000 / 480), taking the total to $439.04 (≈ €378.03) — +50%; its europe-west1 price of $291.62/month is derived as 2 × n4-standard-4, the exact ratio the published Iowa table shows, not re-read for europe-west1. e2-standard-4 is excluded because Hyperdisk Balanced requires account-team approval on E2 and N2 — n4-standard-4 is the self-serve equivalent. A GKE node behind a load balancer normally has no external IP of its own; one costs $0.005/hour if attached.
configuration meeting the performance target: n4-standard-8 with the same Hyperdisk Balanced volume: $439.04/month (≈ €378.03) — +50% on this row’s total. n4-standard-4 caps at 240 MiB/s per instance, below the 250 MiB/s target, so the compared worker does not reach it even though the disk does. n4-standard-8’s europe-west1 price is derived as 2 × n4-standard-4.
Boot / root / OS disk: Excluded from the total: n4-standard-4 has no bundled instance storage, and Google bills the boot disk separately as its own Persistent Disk or Hyperdisk volume. No boot-disk line is in this total.
AWS
The volume meets the target; the instance does not. m6i.xlarge sustains 6,000 IOPS / 156.25 MB/s — its 40,000 IOPS figure is burst, not sustained. The smallest m6i that meets the target on baseline is m6i.2xlarge at $312.44/month, which takes the total to $460.29 (≈ €396.32) — +51%.
configuration meeting the performance target: m6i.2xlarge with the same gp3 volume: $460.29/month (≈ €396.32) — +51% on this row’s total. m6i.xlarge sustains 6,000 IOPS / 156.25 MB/s on baseline (its 40,000 IOPS figure is burst), so the compared worker does not reach the target even though the volume does.
Boot / root / OS disk: Excluded from the total: m6i.xlarge is EBS-only with no bundled instance storage, and AWS bills the EBS root volume separately. No root-volume line is in this total.
Azure
The disk meets the target; the VM does not. D4s v5 is limited to 6,400 uncached IOPS / 145 MB/s. The smallest Dsv5 meeting the target is D8s v5 at $335.80/month, taking the total to $487.58 (≈ €419.82) — +53%. Azure prices throughput in MB/s, so 250 MiB/s is billed as 262.14 MB/s.
configuration meeting the performance target: D8s v5 with the same Premium SSD v2 volume: $487.58/month (≈ €419.82) — +53% on this row’s total. D4s v5 is limited to 6,400 uncached IOPS / 145 MB/s, so the compared worker does not reach the target even though the disk does.
Boot / root / OS disk: Excluded from the total: D4s v5 has no local temporary disk, and Azure bills the managed OS disk separately. No OS-disk line is in this total.

3 · Transfer — in no total, on every bill

Data-transfer charges per provider. None of these figures is included in any total above.
ProviderInternet ingressInternet egressPrivate / VPCCross-zone / cross-regionLB processingNAT / gateway
AetherNo chargeNo charge, no allowance to exceedNo chargeOne region, one zone — no cross-zone or cross-region charge existsNoneNone — workers reach the internet through the cluster proxy at no charge
OVHcloud€0, "included"€0, "included" — MKS states external internet traffic is free€0, "included" (vRack)No per-GB line item in the French catalogueNone publishedGateway S, €2.00/month
DigitalOceanFree5,000 GiB per worker node per month, pooled team-wide; $0.01/GiB overVPC traffic is not billed as public transferDroplet-to-Droplet cross-region rate is pending — not published as a distinct lineNone — backend egress draws on the same poolPending — no NAT or gateway product rate was read for DigitalOcean
Scaleway (shared vCPU)Pending — no line item foundPending — no per-GB instance egress line item found on any page readPrivate Networks free and uncapped; VPC peering €0.02/h ≈ €14.60/monthNot published per GBNone — unlimited within the flavour bandwidth capPublic Gateway VPC-GW-S, €0.026/h, egress included
ScalewayPending — no line item foundPending — no per-GB instance egress line item found on any page readPrivate Networks free and uncapped; VPC peering €0.02/h ≈ €14.60/monthNot published per GBNone — unlimited within the flavour bandwidth capPublic Gateway VPC-GW-S, €0.026/h, egress included
Google CloudFreePremium Tier, SOURCE REGION europe-west1, to Europe: $0.12/GiB to 1,024 GiB, then $0.11, then $0.08 above 10,240 GiB. Read with the region selector on Belgium — the page’s default (Iowa) tab shows different tiersSame-zone VM-to-VM on internal IPs: no charge$0.01/GiB cross-zone in-region; $0.02/GiB Europe to Europe inter-region$0.008 per GiB inbound + $0.008 outboundCloud NAT $0.0014 per VM-hour (to 32 VMs) + $0.045/GiB + $0.005/h per NAT IP
AWS$0$0.090/GB for the first 10 TB beyond the 100 GB free tier, then 0.085 / 0.070 / 0.050Same-AZ private IP is not charged$0.010/GB cross-AZ; $0.020/GB Ireland → London$0.006 per LCU-hourNAT Gateway $0.048/h + $0.048/GB
Azure$0First 100 GB/month free, then $0.087/GB, then 0.083 / 0.070 / 0.050Same-VNet, same-zone is not metered$0.010/GB inter-AZ each way; $0.020/GB inter-region$0.005 per GBPending — no NAT Gateway meter returned for West Europe

What is and isn't in these numbers

  • Two configurations, and which one the totals price: Every total in tables 1 and 2 prices the 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration: one worker of 4 vCPU / 16 GB Linux, on-demand, no commitment; 100 GiB of block storage at the compared worker size, or the smallest volume the provider requires to reach the performance target where its product scales performance with size (OVHcloud Gen2: 489 GiB) — the performance target (≥10,000 sustained IOPS and ≥250 MiB/s) is otherwise priced separately, per provider; one named L4 load balancer with a public IPv4; and the named paid control-plane tier where one exists — on-demand and with no commitment, except where noted. That is a price comparison at a fixed shape, and it is NOT a claim that the performance target is met — on AWS, Azure, Google and both Scaleway rows the compared worker does not reach it, and Aether publishes no figure that could show it either way. The configuration meeting the performance target — ≥10,000 sustained IOPS and ≥250 MiB/s, or the smallest configuration reaching them — is stated per provider under "The configuration meeting the performance target": a different, dearer configuration on AWS, Azure, Google and Scaleway POP2 (never folded into a total); the row's own total where the provider already reaches the target at the compared size (OVHcloud, DigitalOcean); not priced at all where no such configuration can be shown (Aether publishes no figure; Scaleway shared vCPU defers to the POP2 row). Regions: Aether eu-fi, AWS eu-west-1, Azure West Europe, Google europe-west1, Scaleway fr-par-1/2, OVHcloud GRA on the French catalogue, and DigitalOcean's region-independent list (AMS3).
  • Boot, root and OS disks: Every row states its own treatment, and the four that exclude a separately billed disk say so rather than leaving it unsaid. Aether: the worker's own 50 GB node disk is a separate rate-card line and IS inside its total. Bundled, so nothing is missing: DigitalOcean (50 GiB of Droplet storage), OVHcloud b3-16 (100 GB of local NVMe), Scaleway GP1-XS (up to 150 GB of local SSD). EXCLUDED from the total, because the provider bills the disk separately and no line for it was read from an official source: AWS (m6i.xlarge is EBS-only — its EBS root volume is not priced here), Google (n4-standard-4 has no bundled instance storage — its boot disk is not priced here), Azure (D4s v5 has no local temporary disk — its managed OS disk is not priced here), and Scaleway POP2-4C-16G (no local disk at all — the block volume a cluster needs to boot from is not priced here). Read the compute columns as compute, not as like-for-like storage.
  • What the totals exclude: VAT, egress and every other transfer charge, load-balancer processing and capacity fees, NAT and gateway products, support plans, backups, and any committed-use or reserved discount. Transfer is in its own table precisely because leaving it inside a total would hide the largest variable in a real bill.
  • On-demand, except where noted: Every price here is the provider's on-demand, no-commitment rate, with one exception, and it is on a control plane rather than on any worker, volume or load balancer. It is marked in the "Control-plane tier" cell of both Scaleway rows in table 1, which is the only control-plane column this page has — so read it as applying wherever that rate is counted, INCLUDING inside the table 2 totals and the target configuration priced beside them, neither of which breaks the control plane out. Scaleway's Kapsule Dedicated-4 control plane — the tier BOTH Scaleway rows use — carries a 30-calendar-day commitment: "When selecting a dedicated environment, you are committing to this plan for 30 calendar days." A downgrade is blocked for its duration. The alternative that carries no commitment is the free Kapsule Mutualized tier, which lists its SLA as N/A — which is why the paid tier is the one priced here. Every other selected tier — the control plane, worker, block volume and load balancer of Aether, OVHcloud, DigitalOcean, AWS, Azure and Google, and both Scaleway workers — was re-examined for a term in the same source captures the prices came from, and none of those captures records a commitment, a minimum term or a required reservation. Where a monthly figure is used instead of hourly × 730, it is a postpaid or consumption rate, not a committed one: OVHcloud's load balancer, floating IP and volume prices come from its "month.consumption" and "monthly.postpaid" catalogue entries, and DigitalOcean's 672-hour cap is a cap, not a term. Committed-use, reserved and savings-plan discounts are excluded from every total, as "What the totals exclude" says.
  • Hours and currency: Hourly rates are multiplied by 730 unless the provider publishes a monthly price or cap, in which case the published figure is used: DigitalOcean caps bundled worker nodes at 672 hours, and OVHcloud's published monthly prices for its load balancer, floating IP and volumes are below hourly × 730. Prices are shown in the currency the provider publishes; USD rows are converted at 1 EUR = 1.1614 USD, the ECB euro reference rate of 2026-09-08.
  • Pending cells: Every figure was read from an official source on 2026-09-09, from the provider's own pricing page, order catalogue or price-list API — never an aggregator, and never a summarised fetch. Where a figure could not be read, the cell says "Pending" and no total is completed from it: what remains pending is the published SLA percentage for AWS, Azure and Google, Scaleway's per-GB instance transfer rates, DigitalOcean's cross-region rate, DigitalOcean's NAT or gateway rate, and Azure's NAT Gateway meter. One figure is DERIVED rather than read and is labelled so where it appears: n4-standard-8's europe-west1 price, taken as 2 × n4-standard-4 because that is the exact ratio Google's published table shows. Google's pricing pages are per SOURCE REGION and switch client-side, so every Google figure here — instance, disk and the transfer tiers — was read with the region selector on Belgium (europe-west1); the page's default Iowa tab publishes different transfer tiers, and reading it by mistake is how a US row gets attributed to Europe. No cell is filled with an estimate or with a figure carried over from an earlier version of this table.
  • The performance target is priced, never assumed: Where the 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration does not reach the performance target, the row says so and prices the configuration meeting the performance target beside it. OVHcloud needs 489 GiB rather than 100 GiB because Gen2 performance is size-derived (+€33.45), and that larger volume is already inside its total; its Gen2 performance scales per decimal GB while its price is per GiB, so the sizing uses 489 GiB (525 GB) — taking the smaller figure is the reading that favours OVHcloud. AWS, Azure and Google all reach the target on the volume but not on the instance: the smallest compliant instance adds 51% to AWS, 53% to Azure and 50% to Google. Scaleway reaches it only on POP2-32C-128G, €975.06/month. DigitalOcean reaches it at the compared size, but as a ceiling rather than a provisioned figure. Those target-meeting figures are stated per row. Where they name a different configuration from the compared one they are deliberately NOT in the total column; where a provider already reaches the target at the compared size (OVHcloud, DigitalOcean) the row says so explicitly and the figure IS that row's total. The total column always prices the 4 vCPU / 16 GB configuration, nothing more.
  • Two things Aether does not claim: Aether publishes no IOPS or throughput figure for aether-block, so its storage cell states that rather than claiming the target is met. And an Aether load balancer is a dedicated proxy VM per Service — a single instance, not a managed multi-instance service like AWS's, Azure's, Google's or DigitalOcean's. Aether also publishes no SLA at all; of the six others, three publish a percentage we could read (OVHcloud, Scaleway, DigitalOcean) and the rest are pending. On Aether: every cluster currently requires a separately billed public API endpoint, so the €4 public API endpoint is included in Aether's total; no other provider is charged a control-plane IPv4 here. Private-network connectivity, which would make the public endpoint optional, is a future capability.
  • Control planes are not free once you want an SLA: None of the seven offers a control plane that is both free and covered by an SLA. DigitalOcean and Scaleway and OVHcloud each publish a free tier, and each free tier drops the SLA (Scaleway lists it as N/A; OVHcloud offers an SLO, not an SLA; DigitalOcean’s 99.95% applies only with HA enabled at $40/month). AWS charges a flat $0.10/h with no free tier. Google charges a flat $0.10/h across every mode — its free-tier credit is explicitly excluded for the regional clusters an HA comparison uses. Aether charges no control-plane fee across any available tier; these competitors have paid control-plane tiers. Aether publishes no SLA either.
  • Why Scaleway has two rows: Scaleway sells two 4 vCPU / 16 GB tiers and a buyer meets both on the same pricing page, so both are shown. They are not interchangeable. GP1-XS is €0.09282/h (€67.76/month) and Scaleway's own catalogue flags it sharedCpu: true with an SLA of 0, on AMD EPYC 7281 (or equivalent) at 2.1 GHz with 500 Mb/s; POP2-4C-16G is €0.147/h (€107.31/month) with dedicated cores on EPYC 7543 at 2.8 GHz with 800 Mb/s. The cheaper row is the one to read carefully: shared cores, no instance SLA, and 300 MiB/s of block bandwidth against POP2's 800, which puts it further from the storage target — though it does bundle up to 150 GB of local SSD that POP2 lacks. With the same Kapsule Dedicated-4 control plane it reaches €148.06/month, against Aether's €92.00 for worker plus endpoint. Both rows carry the same control plane, storage and load-balancer rates; the difference is the instance.

Sources, all read 2026-09-09: Aether rate card, OVHcloud order catalogue (FR), OVHcloud block storage, Scaleway instance pricing, Scaleway storage pricing, Scaleway network pricing, DigitalOcean Droplet pricing, DigitalOcean volumes, DigitalOcean load balancers, AWS Price List Bulk API (eu-west-1), Azure Retail Prices API (westeurope), GKE pricing, Compute Engine general-purpose pricing, Google Cloud disk pricing, Hyperdisk per-VM performance limits, Google Cloud VPC network pricing. Check current rates before deciding on price alone.

Full example bills, with storage, load balancers and registry →

Security by architecture

Seven isolation layers, configured by the platform.

Every cluster is created inside a stack of isolation layers the platform configures — host firewalls, a per-cluster VLAN, a per-tenant datastore, an OS with no shell. Every cluster gets its own public IPv4 for the Kubernetes API, protected by TLS, client-certificate authentication and Kubernetes RBAC; the management layer behind it is not reachable from tenant networks.

Explore the security model
  1. Hypervisor + SDN firewall
  2. Isolated per-cluster VLAN
  3. Cilium network policy (eBPF)
  4. Talos immutable node OS
  5. Control plane as pods + per-tenant datastore
  6. Aether Identity (OIDC) for portal and API
  7. Dedicated load balancer
Before you rely on it

What Aether does not promise yet.

Aether is a young platform run by a small team. These are the limits worth knowing before you migrate anything you cannot afford to lose.

No SLA, no service credits

Aether publishes no uptime commitment, no service-credit scheme and no status page today. The terms of service say so in §07 — read them before you put a business on it.

Support runs through the portal

Product support is the Support section of the portal, after you sign in. There are no published response times. Legal and privacy questions go to legal@aetherplatform.cloud.

Backups: ours and yours

Aether continuously archives your control-plane datastore. Backing up the data inside your PersistentVolumes is yours to do, as are your workloads, RBAC, secrets and application security.

One region, one set of tools

eu-fi in Helsinki is the only region. The portal and the REST API are the supported surfaces; the Terraform provider and the aether CLI are planned, not released. Compliance items on the security page are roadmap, not certifications.

Read the terms of service and the privacy policy in full — they govern, not this page.

Open standards

Standard Kubernetes. Leave whenever you like.

Aether is assembled from boring, proven open-source infrastructure — Talos Linux on the nodes, Cilium in the network, Ceph under your volumes — and you interact with it purely through the standards: plain kubectl, the standard Kubernetes API, OCI container images and OIDC sign-on. Your manifests, images and pipelines work anywhere. No proprietary controllers in your cluster, no black box you can't walk away from.

  • Standard Kubernetes API
  • Plain kubectl
  • Talos Linux
  • Cilium
  • Ceph storage
  • OCI container images
  • OIDC sign-on
From the build log

How this was built, including the parts that broke.

Aether's founder writes up the engineering behind the platform — the design reversals and the outages as well as the releases.

Browse all posts →

Your first cluster is minutes away. The control plane is already there.

Sign up, name a cluster, pick a node size — Aether does the rest.